May 1, 2015 – Wow

What a day! I had a lot of amazing happen yesterday. First of all one of the teachers at the school said she read my blog post about my being grateful to my wife and it brought her to tears. She also mentioned that she thinks those thoughts often but doesn’t say them. Man, I felt great about that. My beautiful wife also told me that my inspiration helped her consciously make some better choices around her own behaviour throughout the day. This is powerful – I can feel it. Whatever “it” is. I’m hoping that’s the next step is figuring that out.

I rode my bike the 60km to and from work and the weather is finally turning beautiful. I listened to fantastic podcasts from Smart Passive Income. He has such interesting content and I believe I will benefit a great deal from listening. What a win – I get two hours of exercise that I love every day and I get to simultaneously learn and grow. Perfect!

I switched up the Morning Miracle routine because I decided to do the “reading” and exercise as part of my bike ride. So in other words I replaced the reading in the morning with listening to the podcast. I think it’s a good idea and it will work. I am reading a wonderful book on customer service which really just reaffirms the power doing good. The book is called Hug Your Customers and really is a good read. It can be found here: http://www.amazon.com/Hug-Your-Customers-Personalize-Astounding-ebook/dp/B003YCPBUK/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1430570187&sr=1-1&keywords=hug+your+customers

In the evening I had the honour of taking Chloe to her semi-formal year end cheerleading banquet. She looked so beautiful but was soooooo nervous. Chloe likes to have all her ducks in a row and is not big on unknowns. Tanja really helped her by taking time out her organizing this huge event at the kids school to buy her a few dresses so felt good about what she was wearing. That was a big win and a really thoughtful, caring thing to do.

We got there and it was great. I got to sit with Shannon, my long-time friend and truly one of my favourite humans. That was really nice – we had some great laughs. Chloe sat with her teammates at their own table. She won a door prize and then she won MVP of her team!!! I was so damn proud and happy. I didn’t actually care about the award very much at all. I cared about the fact that it was such a powerful lesson about the fact that hard work and dedication will get you the results you want. Their team also won the national championships in April after pretty much finishing last in every competition this year. One of the mom’s on the team put together this incredible slideshow that was played on the big screen. Chloe told me on the way home that it was the best night of her entire life.

I came home and Tanja and I talked for quite a while about how she completely rocked her entire day. Those are great conversations to have.

Tomorrow: some birthday shopping for mama whose turns 37 on Sunday!

Oh yeah: I also called a local organization called Junior Achievement about possibly volunteering with them. I only left a voicemail but that still counts as a positive step. I will follow up with them on Monday.

Leave a comment